Les sans imagEs part 4

Lil’ comic made for the fanzine of les sans pagEs, of which les sans imagEs is a sub project.

My colorful portraits were targeted by many users on Wikipedia who found them distasteful, ugly and useless, and this created many debates on the subject of using illustrated portraits on Wikipedia. The main debate didn’t reach a consensus as there were equal amounts of people voting for them and against them.

I took some distance from my portraits and realize that some of the people arguing against using portraits and taking some of mine as examples were not completely wrong. My portraits were indeed a bit too colorful and did show too much of my personal touch.

In the end, even though no set of rules was created, I understood that I needed to improve my art style, maybe change it a bit if I wanted to continue drawing portrait for les sans imagEs. I decided to draw mostly in black and white and if drawing with colors, to use as little of them as possible.

Leave a comment